top of page
  • webshaykh

Yemeni Fellows 2021

A meeting was held in the AIYS premises for the Yemeni researchers who received the fellowship grant of 2021. The researchers were divided into two groups.

The first session convened on Thursday July 29, 2021 and five of the researchers provided brief presentations about their research proposals. Details here:

[Information on the 2022 Fellowship Competition is now available for Yemeni and American researchers. For information, click here:]

These are:

1- Dr. Samiah al-Ahdal: an associate professor in the faculty of education, at Sana'a University. Her research is entitled: "The Problems of the Internally Displaced Female Students at the Alternative Schools in the Republic of Yemen: Reasons and Solutions."

2- Dr. Mabrok Adhamari: an associate professor in the Section of Antiquities and Museums at Dhamar University. His research headlined: "The City of Radaa in the Islamic Epoch ( Its History and Historical Landmarks)."

3- Maher al-Wajeeh:  A doctoral student and lecturer in the Section of Antiquities, Sana'a University.  His research is entitled: "The Dams in the Ancient Yemen as reported by al-Hamdani (Archeological and Architectural Study)."

4- Dr. Safa Aurwah holds a doctoral degree from Sana'a University, History Department. Her project is: "Dhamar Earthquake and its Political , Economic and Social Impacts (Historical Studies)."

5- Dr. Anwar Kamal: a scholar in history. His project is: "Jabal Al-Dhaher in al-Mahwit: Social, Economic and Political Study."

The Second group will include seven recipients of the fellowship. They are going to provide presentations about their research proposals next week at the AIYS premises. Two researchers, who are from Aden and the Hadramawt, will record  their presentation and send via WhatsApp. They are unable to come from the Southern governorates to Sanaa due to the ongoing war and therefore we will accept their participation via the internet.

From right to left, Dr. Salwa Dammaj (AIYS Resident Director) and fellows Dr. Safa Aurwa, Dr. Samiah al-Ahdal, Dr. Mabrok Adhamari, Dr. Anwar Kamal and Maher al-Wajeeh.

32 views0 comments


bottom of page