Filming "The Architecture of Mud"

by This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Yemen Update 43 (2001)

The Al Kathiri Palace at Seiyun

Around 1993 Pamela Jerome and I started researching a project that would document the traditional building techniques of the Hadhramaut region. As a filmmaker I was struck by the beauty and sophistication of the images of the houses I had seen from the region. As an architect and architectural conservator that has often worked in the preservation of archeological mudbrick sites, Pamela was interested in the local techniques. We envisioned a parallel project that could reach both specialized audiences and the general interest public. In 1997 we received some funding from the AIYS and the AIA (American Institute of Architects) and decided to start. We spent two months documenting the traditional building techniques of the region. We filmed more then 30 hours of footage, of which 20 hours are interviews with masons, workers involved in construction, carpenters and house owners. Upon our return to New York, Pamela wrote a technical paper for a specialized preservation magazine, the Journal of the Association for Preservation Technology (APT Bulletin Vol. 30, No. 2-3, 1999). The paper won the Oliver Torrey Fuller Award for Innovative of Method or Solution in October of 1999. I edited "The Architecture of Mud", a 52 min. documentary.

At the end of October 1999, before showing the documentary anywhere else, Pamela and I went back to the Hadhramaut. Before going, we had the interviews transcribed and the texts translated into Arabic and I re-edited the whole program in Arabic. We borrowed a video projector from Columbia University's Media Center for Art History, bought speakers and carried our VCR.