Muhammed Mahmud Al-Harithi: AN EMBODIMENT OF 50 YEARS OF YEMENI MUSIC

Yemen Update 33(1993):30-31

[excerpted from Yemen Times, 27 November 1991, p. 3]

Music in Yemen has gone through major changes in the second half of this century. The pattern and melody that survived the past centuries with considerable stability and consistency have suddenly lost their immunity to change. Traditional instruments have given way to modern ones, the themes are totally different, the rhythm is not the same, and even the word arrangements are not the same. What happened? To find out, we went to the oldest surviving national singer. Muhammed Mahmud al-Harithi has long been famous for his beautiful melodies. Excerpts of the interview follow:

Q: Could you tell us about your first attempts at singing?

A: That was so many years back during the times of the big war (WW II). I was an amateur singer in Kawkaban (about 40 kms. northwest of Sanaa, the capital). After the daily toil, I would go last fifty years.

Q: How would you evaluate the evolution of Yemeni music during this period?