Board of Directors

Each institutional member of AIYS designates one delegate to serve on the AIYS Board of Directors. In addition five Directors-at-Large are elected from among the individual members for a 3-year term; current terms expire November 2014. The Board meets annually in the late fall in conjunction with the meeting of the Middle East Studies Association. At that time AIYS also holds a general business meeting for individual AIYS members and other interested individuals, and may sponsor panels proposed by AIYS members.

Institutional Members and Institutional Delegates to the Board

American Foundation for the Study of Man
Ms. Merrilyn Phillips Hodgson

American Museum of Natural History
Dr. Ian Tattersall

Columbia University
Dr. Peter J. Awn
Prof. Osama Abi-Mershed

Harvard University
Prof. Steven Caton

George Gund III Foundation
Iara Lee

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Libraries
Sharon Smith

Mount Royal University
Prof. William Glanzman

National University of Singapore
Prof. Michael Hudson

New York University
Arthur Starr

Ohio State University
Dr. Joy McCorriston

Princeton University
Dr. Şükrü Hanioglu

The Smithsonian Institution/CAORC
Dr. Chris Tuttle

Towson University
Dr. Charles Schmitz

University of Arizona
Dr. Anne Betteridge

University of California – Berkeley
Dr. Nezar Alsayyad

University of Chicago
Prof. McGuire Gibson

University of Michigan
Dr. Alexander Knysh

University of Pennsylvania
Dr. Firoozeh Kashani-Sabet

University of Texas-Austin
Dr. Kamran S. Aghaie

Board members at-large elected, 2016-19

Dr. Nancy Um, Binghamton, NY (SUNY Binghamton) (2011-2016)

Dr. Najwa Adra, Research Associate, AIYS

Dr. Najam Haidar, Barnard College

Dr. Daniel Mahoney, Institute for Social Anthropology, Austrian Academy of Sciences

Dr. Nathalie Peutz, NYU Abu Dhabi

Corporate Sponsor

Yemen Hunt Oil Co. Mr. Thomas Meurer

Honorary Members

His Excellency Abdulwahab Al-Hajjri, Former Ambassador of the Republic of Yemen to the U.S.

Professor G. Rex Smith, Manchester University (emeritus)

His Excellency Abdulkarim Al-Eryani, former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister (deceased)


AIYS Officers and Senior Staff

President: Dr. Daniel Varisco

Vice-President: Dr. Charles P. Schmitz, Towson University

Treasurer: Dr. Stacey Philbrick-Yadav, Hobart and William Smith Colleges

Secretary: Dr. David M. Buchman, Hanover College

Executive Director: Council of American Overseas Research Centers (from August 2013)

Resident Director, Sana'a: Dr. Salwa Dammaj


Research Associates

Dr. Najwa Adra (

Dr. Mohamed Gerhoum, Former Minister of Information and Culture, PDRY and Minister of Information, ROY

Raiman al-Hamdani ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it )

Dr. Helen Lackner This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Dr. Mohammad Sharafuddin This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Search Site

Use the following field to search the content of this site, including AIYS's online publications.

Search Library Collection

The American Institute for Yemeni Studies maintains a library collection of scholarly materials for researchers to utilize while in Yemen. In addition, AIYS also collects and publishes online materials through the Digital Library for International Research. Search the AIYS collection using the field below.